Life's a Coconut

All things natural and homemade and delicious and lovely.

Russian Borsche

Russian Borscht 15

Growing up my mom would make “Russian Borscht” regularly.

I ate so much of it and never grew tired of good ol’ Russian Borscht.

In fact, I still love it so much that it flows through my veins.

I hardly ever make it though because my husband can’t stand beets. No matter, I will continue this tradition and our kids too will have it in their veins.

This recipe for Russian Borscht is brought to you by my lovely sister, who has adapted my mom’s recipe into a brilliant work of art. My mother never wrote her recipes down. They are still mostly stored in her brain. It is my and my sisters’ life work to extract those recipes and write them down. This Russian Borsche recipe is a prime example.

Author: Alona, Irina’s lovely sister

Borscht is one of my favorite ways to eat my vegetables. Not only is it packed with nutrients, it is a warm and hearty meal that is also good for the soul. I made this for my friend who hates beets because “they taste like dirt”, but she ended up loving this soup. The beets marry into all the other ingredients and create a wonderfully flavored soup. Let’s begin! I’m hungry.

Ingredients:

1 pound beef: stew meat
Salt to taste, start with 1/2 tablespoon
4 cups beef stock
3 medium beets, washed, steamed, peeled and shredded
4 tablespoon high-heat oil
1 tablespoon butter
3 tablespoons tomato paste
1 medium onion, finely diced
2-3 carrots, diced
3 medium potatoes or 6 small, peeled and diced
1/2 head of small cabbage, shredded
2 bay leaves
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley and/or dill, more for garnish
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
Garnish: Sour cream and fresh dill

For the directions head on over to my website: http://www.revivingtraditions.com/russian-borscht/

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 4, 2014 by in The Kitchen.

Navigation

